Today’s Tottenville Visit: My Team is Amazing!!

Mariane Diby! Class of 2026!

Kylie Goldade! Class of 2026!

Dominick Guadagno! Class of 2026!

I just wanted to write their names out big and with bold letters! These amazingly wonderful students got up at 5 am to meet me at 5:45 am to drive to Staten Island this morning for an entire day of volunteer work at Tottenville High School. We didn’t get back until almost 6pm. We taught six physics classes throughout the day! We were all exhausted but in great spirits.

It was our usual Lab for Kids. Tottenville, we love you! It is so much fun to go to Staten Island and hang out with you all for the day. There were some amazing laughs and lots of science!

Luis was there too and he was really helpful as well. But Luis is our lab coordinator and I told him we would have to do this kind of thing as part of his job. He excels, but he is also sort forced to be there.

But the students are amazing! I tried to tell them not to come – who wants to go on a 12-hour road trip to Staten Island for volunteer work? (HaHa! I actually love Staten Island! Its so unique and original.) And yet they told me they wanted to come and showed up really early eager and ready to go.

And they did a great job! I was so impressed and thankful for their help!!! THANK YOU!!!! Love you guys! Great Road Trip!

I am still working finding ways to reward students for doing this amazing service. We tried paying people last year, but the paperwork was an issue – it wasn’t ever enough money for the students to want to fill out the paperwork. This year we built Lab for Kids into a class, so students at least got to practice how to teach in a real life setting – but that was only for one student. Still trying to figure the best way! Any ideas?

Pictures below!

2 thoughts on “Today’s Tottenville Visit: My Team is Amazing!!

Leave a comment